Difference Between Follow & Connect
FOLLOWS: You should follow someone because you want to see all of that person’s activity. They won’t be informed that you are following their activity.
When someone follows you, you cannot see who it is and you don’t get a notice. Furthermore, your profile page doesn’t have a Followers tab, but does say that you have x number of people who are following you, giving you indication of how valuable your input is to the community.
If you view the Members page, you can see a tab of who you are following along with a total count of how many members you are following.
CONNECTIONS: These are ‘friends’ with whom you form relationships. The words ‘friends‘ and ‘connections‘ are interchangeable. You have to request a connection with someone, and they need to accept that request. At the right membership level (Gold+), you can initiate an audio or video call to a connection, not people you simply follow. In fact you can call someone who is at a lower membership level if they’re connected with you, but they cannot initiate a call to you.
These screenshots shot the icon difference between a connection and a non-connection. Notice the icon in the bottom left corner of a member’s card will have either a check mark (already accepted a connection with you), or a plus sign (click it to send a connection request).
CALLING: In the bottom right corner of your screen you will see a Message and Friends tab. When you click that you can expand it to see interactions with members. At the right membership level, you’ll see that you can Voice Call (phone icon) or Video Call (camera icon) to anyone who has accepted a connection request from you.
Sorry, there were no replies found.
Log in to reply.